Our Team

Political Leadership

George Town East

Hon. Roy McTaggart

Hon. Roy McTaggart was first elected in 2013 and re-elected in 2017 and in 2021.  He served as Councilor (Parliamentary Secretary) to the Ministry of Health from 2013-2017. During the 2017-2021 term, he served as Minister for Finance and Economic Development. He is a member of The Progressives and was elected as Political Leader of the party in March 2021.  Following the 2021 General Election, Mr. McTaggart became the Leader of The Opposition when the Progressives were unable to form the Government.

George Town North

Mr. Joseph "Joey" Hew

Mr Hew has been a member of Parliament since 2013.  He served as a Councilor (now Parliamentary Secretary) to the Ministry of District Administration, Tourism and Transport. He was re-elected in 2017 and was named Minister for Commerce, Planning and Infrastructure. He was elected as Deputy Political Leader of the Progressives party in March 2021 at the Party Conference.

George Town South

Ms. Barbara Conolly

Ms. Conolly has worked in the financial services industry for over 30 years in the areas of corporate and fiduciary services and held the position of Manager of Fiduciary Services prior to her political career.

Ms. Conolly’s political experience goes back to 2002 when she became a member of the People’s Progressive Movement (now known as The Progressives). She has played a significant role in the development of the party over the past two decades. She is a former General Secretary and has served on the Party’s Executive for many years.

George Town West

Mr. David Wight

Mr Wight was first elected in 2017 and re-elected in 2021.

In his first term in office he served as Permanent Secretary to the Ministries of Tourism, Transport and Sports. He also served on several House Standing Committees, including the Standing Register of Interests, the Standing House Committee, the Standing Select Committee to Oversee the Offices of the Complaints Commissioner and the Information Commissioner. He has represented the Cayman Islands overseas at Tourism…

Cayman Brac West and Little Cayman

Mr. Moses Kirkconnell

Former Deputy Premier of the Cayman Islands,  Mr  Kirkconnell  was first elected to the Legislative Assembly for Cayman Brac and Little Cayman in 2005 and was re-elected for a fifth consecutive term in 2021.  In 2012 he was named Deputy Leader of the Progressives and then appointed Deputy Leader of the Opposition.

Red Bay

Sir Alden McLaughlin

A former two-term Premier of the Cayman Islands, Sir Alden McLaughlin, was first elected to the Legislative Assembly in 2000 and has been an MP for over twenty-one years.

He is a Founding Member of the Progressives, which was launched in 2002.  With the Progressives winning the Government in 2005, he served as the Minister of Education, Training, Employment, Youth, Sports and Culture from 2005-2009. For his contribution to…


Progressives Party Executive Team

Chairman of The Progressives & MP for Red Bay

Sir Alden Mclaughlin

Vice Chairman of The Progressive & Head of the Office of the Leader of The Opposition

Roy Tatum

Contact Us

Use the following electronic form if you have any questions or queries for The Progressives.

    First & Last name

    Email address



    Signup To Stay Informed

      (345) 945-1776
      294 Crewe Road, George Town, Cayman Islands